Digital Detox | Hello 2017

Another throwback post from the end of 2016.

Wow, if you’re reading this then that means we have survived 2016 and are ready to claim 2017 as “The Year of Doing Better”. I know for a lot of people 2016 was not a kind year. It was like that math teacher everybody hated but you have to admit his teaching methods worked. PEMDAS for the win. Personally I’m not sure what 2016 taught me but hindsight is 20/20 and I know that looking back I’ll thank it for the lesson.

To prepare myself for the New Year I started a digital detox which meant I turned off my notifications for all my social networks, and dove into working on cleaning up the last bit of my year. I  went back to listening to audiobooks, (Girl Code: Unlocking the Secrets to Success, Sanity, and Happiness for the Female Entrepreneur by Cara Alwill Leyba and #GirlBoss are must reads.) I inhaled more water, I did all my laundry, cleaned, and cleared out (most of) my mental and physical space. It felt good. The most important thing I accomplished was content. I took a digital detox so I could spend more time making sure I had digital content for my comeback. Go figure.

You might be thinking what was the point? Why spend time away from social media just so you can make sure you have content for social media? The answer is I’m obsessed with the instant gratification of a like, a save, a comment and it’s becoming a problem. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it here but I have started a fashion related blog which is linked at the top of this page and along with that I have a separate instagram account to post my inspirations and creations and I’m also posting to Pinterest and it is just a lot happening. Not to mention I live tweet a lot of different shows on Twitter which sometimes do very well and lead to retweets and likes. This can become a little bit overwhelming but it’s also the best part of putting yourself out there.

I guess what to take from this is sometimes stepping back can be the best thing. Seeing constant photos on social media kinda forces you to think along a certain thought process. I don’t know if you’ve noticed but you subconsciously take in the things you spend so much time absorbing. You feel the need to buy things that you see on your favorite influencers, you think life has to be what you see on perfectly thought out Instagram posts and that can really affect a person. Of course I’m speaking for myself.

The best thing about a detox is you are really reminded to go out and live your life and to create your own content. I’m so excited for you to see what I’ve worked up the past couple of weeks and of course I hope your enjoy it. Happy New Year and cheers to new opportunities.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

