2017 Goals

This is the follow up post to the one from Wednesday, it was also meant to be posted at the beginning of the year.

-insert New Year, New Me comment-

I know I’m not the only one who is happy to see 2016 go. I know looking back I’ll be happy with the things I learned but right now I’m looking forward to starting new no matter what is happening with the government. It’s definitely time to shake it off and set some new goals.

Can I just say I stopped setting New Year’s Resolutions because they’re always the same and they always fail. Sorry not sorry, what I wanted to do was set a couple of goals that are do-able with some willpower. I also wanted to include my friends in this journey because why not. What I did was I challenged them to come up with 2 strange/unusual things to accomplish in the year 2017 and we are going to work on pushing each other to complete them. I have my two goals and one of them is a bit out there. But I don’t take credit for it. This is Anderson Cooper’s fault.

  1. Feed and pet an elephant

You read that right. I was scrolling through Instagram when I came across a post of Anderson Cooper bathing an elephant. It was just as adorable as you think. I went through a couple of his pictures and saw that he had his animal encounter at Green Hill Valley Elephant Camp in Myanmar. I made it my mission to have an elephant encounter also. Maybe not shirtless like Anderson but I do want to make a donation and spend some quality time with an elephant. That being said, I did not want this to be a situation where you go to a zoo and pay the extra to pet a sedated elephant through a fence. Lucky for me, I found an elephant rescue that is relatively close to me and the price for an elephant encounter is pretty affordable (can you really put a price on your goals?) which means I have to try. I haven’t figured out when I plan to make this happen but I will definitely be right here blogging about it.

2. Make $60,000 doing what I love

This is a huge goal for me. This is my attempt to fully transition to doing what I love. I feel like this goal speaks for itself and I don’t have to explain it too much in detail. What I will say is the amount is very special to me. Once I meet that goal I will go more into detail as to why that amount means so much to me.

I also have a couple of “honorable mention” goals that I am also working on. These goals are just as important but not as quirky.

complete a fitbit adventure: I’m doing a separate blog post for this stay tuned.

craft more: this use to be my go to stress reliever and I stopped when I got down… Now I want to pick it up again.

track my food: this goes along with the fitbit adventure, I definitely want to keep better track of what I’m eating.

keep a planner/journal: I really need to write more.

become completely fluent in american sign language: I’ve actually gotten pretty good and I can comprehend basic words and phrases but I’m self taught and I want to take a few classes so I can learn proper etiquette.

study more about holistic medicine: more on this situation later in the year. I’m so excited for this.

practice yoga and meditation daily: I’m not new to the practices and their abilities to be very beneficial to the body. I just need to focus on being more grounded.

read more: this explains itself, I have a collection of books I haven’t read and I would like to finish the, pick the ones I want to keep, and sell/pass along the others.

practice better skincare/ work on my makeup skills: I’m been doing the same makeup look since high school. I’m not kidding., I would love to master a proper smoky eye.

So that’s it. These are the basic goals for 2017! What are your goals and what steps are you taking to achieve them? It would be great to start a conversation in the comments and encourage each other.

Leave a Reply

