Find Your Adjectives

Adjective

noun

1.

Grammar. any member of a class of words that modify nouns and pronouns, primarily by describing a particular quality of the word they are modifying, as wise in a wise grandmother, or perfect in a perfect score, or handsome in He is extremely handsome. Other terms, as numbers ( one cup; twelve months), certain demonstrative pronouns( this magazine; those questions), and terms that impose limits (each person; no mercy) can also function adjectivally, as can some nouns that are found chiefly in fixed phrases where they immediately precede the noun they modify, as bottle in bottle cap and bus in bus station.

Have you found your adjectives?

Some of you might be thinking well that’s easy: female, black, white, Catholic, straight, lesbian, etc. But I’m challenging you to think deeper. These adjectives are a direct reflection of how the world sees you. The question here is how do YOU see yourself? This subject took a bit of thinking and it happened by accident. I had a moment where I stopped to think about the labels my ex put on me. They’re typical of course; crazy, cold, obsessive. after tearing myself up with these words I started thinking about the adjectives I would use to describe her and after I went through all the nasty ones I started getting emotional. I thought is this how I would I want someone else to see her? Is this how someone else would see her? No. I started thinking about her driven personality and her inability to fail. Driven, determined, warm, caring. These were the words that best fit her and this led to a moment of reflection of my own adjectives. Who am I? If you’ve been following this blog then you know that I don’t have the answer to that yet. But I did come up with a few adjective that fit.

img_1027

Right off the top of my head these words came to mind and I know a lot of them are surface adjectives but stay with me. This thought about the words that describe me made me think. Am I these things every day? The answer was no followed by why not? Why can I not be fearless, caring, brave, inspiring and strong every day? Why are these words not a daily call to action? They can be and all it takes is a bit of imagination and of course a vision board. How many of you were waiting for this to tie into your vision board? Well here it is, I honestly haven’t decided how I want to display my adjectives but I will probably make a couple of graphics like the one above and just post them but use this as an opportunity to express yourself. Use cardstock, use fancy pens, practice your calligraphy,  go crazy. Post your adjectives so that they are big and bold. This will ensure you focus on making them a part of your everyday life. I hope your vision boards are coming together nicely and I can’t wait to see the finished products. In the comments below let me know what your adjectives are and how you came to that conclusion. See you guys Tuesday for more information on getting our finances in order.

PS feel free to use this photo as part of your search for your adjectives.

img_1029
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

